Skip to content

Antique Yarn Winder

February 13, 2013

image

I think this is an antique yarn winder but can’t figure out how one would get the skein off after it is wound?

RE mardeeknits comment below – yes, I could remove the pin holding the “bobbin” part, if the bolt weren’t rusted to it.  So  that would be part of getting the yarn off – but then there is an issue with with arms extending so far beyond the posts where they yarn would be wound.

I could take the “big bobbin” off – but then I can’t imagine how one would get the actual skein over those long arms…HELP!  🙂

I would end up with something like what’s in this blog post (but with 4 arms, not 6): http://woolwindings.blogspot.com/2007/09/what-is-this.html

Here are pictures of the pin

DSC04102 DSC04103

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2013 5:56 pm

    That is quite possibly what it is. I wonder if you can pull the pin in the middle? I have a couple of old lazy kates and the metal shaft comes out to allow you to slide the bobbin on.

  2. February 13, 2013 7:05 pm

    Yes, I believe can remove the pin (if I get rid of the rusty bolt), which was half of the problem for sure! (My Ashford Traddy came with a lazy kate like the one you describe).

Leave a Reply

