Skip to content

New (to me) Spinning Wheel

February 16, 2017

For a few months now, I’ve wanted an antique (or at least older than my 1980’s Ashford) spinning wheel.  If I get a fiber display for living history going, I won’t want to take Aurora, since she looks so new…not “oldy-timey” at all.

Well, I found this beauty online and she arrived here yesterday

williamralphwheel

She arrived almost entirely intact and when I got her set up and oiled she was ready to go!!

I spun quite a bit of the 50% silk/50% merino that I dyed with left over Easter egg dye a couple of years ago.  I think I’ll ply it with the left over single that I used to make the 2 ply yarn that I’m knitting into a scarf for Adam…

This wheel has a card affixed to it that says she is a Flax Wheel, Restored by William Ralph in 1990.

I LOVE her!!!

No comments yet

Leave a comment